Entering passwords on a shared or public computer

Entering passwords on a shared or public computer

Avoid using the "remember password" functionality. Do NOT select options like "Remember me" or "Keep me signed in".

Sign in on device

Always sign out completely from the (Windows) machine if you used a shared or public computer at Ghent University.

Sign in to sites and applications (in browser)

Always sign off from UGent sites and applications which you used, like the portal site (intranet), Minerva and Athena. It is important that you click the "Log off" or "Logout" link.

Closing the browser window is not enough to keep someone from using your username and password. You can still be signed in, after you close your browser. A browser can be set to store passwords without warning. You can verify this very easily: after logging off and closing the browser, you restart the browser and surf to the same page. The password should not be entered.

  1. If the password is filled out, you must remove the stored password.
  2. You do well to turn off password saving.

How to remove stored passwords and turn off password saving in a browser

Microsoft Edge

On the page Remember passwords in Microsoft Edge externe site look for: Turn "Offer to save passwords" to "Off" and "delete previously saved passwords".

Internet Explorer 11

On the page Remember passwords and fill out web forms externe site look for "To turn off password saving".

Google Chrome

On the page Manage saved passwords externe site look for:

  • Turn off "Offer to save your web passwords"
  • See saved passwords
  • Delete a saved password

Several browsers

How to Delete Remembered Passwords externe site (Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Chrome Mobile, Safari iOS)

More on this: