- Account & password
Disabling a Ghent University account
A Ghent University account remains valid as long as you have a statute at the university.
When your statute expires, your account will be closed automatically, unless you have another valid statute.
Notification by e-mail
When your statute is expired a transition period of 10 days begins.
Three days after expiration of your statute an e-mail is automatically sent with subject 'Afsluiten UGent account'.
Seven days after the closing mail your account will be terminated.
During the transitional period your mailbox and shares stay accessible.
For 'UZ staff' and 'visitors' with a sloping statute the closing mail is sent immediately after the expiry of the statute.
'UGent staff' whose employment statute expires shall be notified even 1 week beforehand by e-mail with subject Einde tewerkstelling.
A statute of 'voluntary worker' always expire on 1 October.
Setting up a forward for 1 year
If you have set a private e-mail address (in SAP MijnApps > Personal Data for employees, Oasis for students), mails will be forwarded to this address for 1 year.
After that, e-mails will be bounced back to the sender with the notification that the e-mail address is invalid.
- For questions about your statute (e.g. contract changes), please contact the Department of Personnel and Organization (DPO) (except UZ staff).
- If your contract is not renewed in due time (or ends), your account will be closed automatically.
- UGent employees who retire retain a full account for 2 years. After this period, the account can be extended annually. This does not apply for UZ staff.
- The important data for the University of Ghent on your personal storage space can be moved to a shared storage.
Please note! If you have not re-registered, you will lose access to certain services such as Eduroam, Athena, ... from the start of the new academic year.
- For questions about your statute (e.g. not enrolled), please contact the student administration.
You keep your account until you leave the Ghent University. When you graduate and/or
not re-enroll for the next academic year, the account will be disabled in late October,
shortly after the end of the subscription period. However, you retain access to OASIS for the duration of the complete following academic year,
making a late enrollment still possible through this system.